The Georgia Bulldogs football championship team declines an invitation to visit the White House

The Georgia Bulldogs football championship team declines an invitation to visit the White House

(CNN) the Georgia Bulldog The football team declined an invitation to visit White House next month to celebrate their second consecutive national championship, according to a statement from the University of Georgia Athletic Association.

“The University of Georgia first received an invitation to the Bulldogs football team on May 3 to visit the White House on June 12,” the statement read. “Unfortunately, the proposed date is not possible due to the student-athlete calendar and time of year. However, we appreciate the invitation and look forward to other opportunities for Georgia teams moving forward.”

CNN has reached out to the White House for comment.

The Bulldogs beat the University of Texas Christian Horned Frogs 65-7 in January to capture the College Football Playoff National Championship Trophy and finish with a perfect 15-0 season.

The team did not visit the White House after last year’s tournament, nor did the Alabama Crimson Tide the previous year, for Covid reasons.

The Louisiana State University Tigers were the last football team in the tournament Visit the White House In January 2020 – Former President Donald Trump joked about his first impeachment but didn’t deliver the same Fast spread fast food buffet That awaited the 2018 champions, the Clemson Tigers.

President Joe Biden and First Lady Jill Biden announced Monday that the White House will host the LSU Tigers women’s basketball team and the University of Connecticut Huskies men’s basketball team on May 26 in ceremonies to celebrate each team’s national championship titles.

The invitation to the LSU women’s basketball team comes after a senior level Criticism from team star Angel Reis After the First Lady suggested that LSU and the University of Iowa’s second-place team come to the ceremonial ceremony. Later first lady’s office She retracted her statements.

CNN’s Betsy Cline, Megan Vasquez and Nikki Carvajal contributed to this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top