Odegaard and Saka are nominated for the Ballon d’Or | News

Odegaard and Saka are nominated for the Ballon d'Or |  News

Bukayo Saka and Martin Odegaard’s impressive season has once again been recognized in the 2022/23 season as the pair have been nominated for the prestigious Ballon d’Or.

The award, widely regarded as the most prestigious individual award in the game, sees journalists from around the world cast their votes to be crowned the best player in the world each season, and has been awarded since 1956.

For the 2023 edition, Martin and Bukayo are included in the 30-man shortlist alongside some of the biggest stars in the sport.

Meanwhile, Aaron Ramsdale also received recognition by being nominated for the Yashin Award, which has been given to the best goalkeeper since its inception in 2019.

Martin’s impressive season last season saw him recognised, after our captain scored 15 goals in the Premier League – the first midfielder to score that many in a season for us in the history of the competition since Cesc Fabregas in 2009/10 – and contributed seven assists to help us out. Challenge for the title until the final weeks.

He was not short of individual accolades last season, having been named the Premier League’s Player of the Month for November/December, along with being nominated for the division’s Player of the Month award.

Bukayo has enjoyed an equally impressive season, scoring 15 goals and providing 11 assists. He was recently crowned the Premier League Young Player of the Year for the 2022/23 season, and his exploits at the 2022 World Cup, where he scored three goals during England’s run to the quarter-finals, earned him the England Player of the Year award. The second season in a row.

The duo were also included in the PFA Team of the Season alongside Aaron, who received his first nomination for the Yashin Award, named after famous Soviet Union goalkeeper Lev Yashin.

Our goalkeeper has kept 15 clean sheets in all competitions in 41 appearances, and was part of the England squad that competed in Qatar during the World Cup. Only Gold Glove winner David De Gea kept more clean sheets in the Premier League last season.

Two members of our women’s team were also honored, with Katie McCabe and Amanda Ellistt nominated for the Women’s Ballon d’Or, which Beth Mead finished in second place last year.

The winners will be revealed during a ceremony held on October 30 at the Theater du Chatelet in Paris.

Full list of candidates

Kim Min Jae (Napoli and Bayern Munich)
Luka Modric (Real Madrid)
Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain)
Victor Osimhen (Napoli)
Harry Kane (Tottenham and Bayern Munich)
Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain and Inter Miami)
Rodri (Man City)
Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan)
Antoine Griezmann (Atletico Madrid)
Robert Lewandowski (Barcelona)
Julian Alvarez (Man City)
Yacine Bounou (Sevilla and Al Hilal)
Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid)
Ilkay Gundogan (Manchester City and Barcelona)
Martin Odegaard (Arsenal)
Erling Haaland (Man City)
Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan)
Ruben Dias (Man City)
Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)
Khvicha Kvaratskhelia (Naples)
Bernardo Silva (Manchester City)
Randall Kolo Mwani (Eintracht Frankfurt and Paris Saint-Germain)
Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund and Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
Mohamed Salah (Liverpool)
Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich)
Karim Benzema (Real Madrid and Al-Ittihad)
Andre Onana (Inter Milan and Manchester United)
Josko Gvardiol (Leipzig and Manchester City)

Copyright 2023 Arsenal Football Club Limited. Permission to use quotations from this article is granted provided that appropriate credit is given to www.arsenal.com as the source.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top