Allies like Namibia and the United States are showing more interest

Allies like Namibia and the United States are showing more interest

With two more Indian Premier League teams from 2022, players from ICC member nations are more likely to form an IPL team. The IPL auction to be held in Bangalore on February 12-13 may reach certain functions in terms of popularity and money. (More Cricket News)

Last year’s T20 World Cup in the United Arab Emirates provided a good show for many cricketers from the participating countries. Players from Namibia, Scotland and Ireland have attracted attention, but in a match like the IPL where bowlers are so important, Namibian player Robin Trumpelman can buy better.

41 players from eight member countries registered for the Mega IPL 2022 auction held in Bangalore on February 12-13.

Of the 41, five are from Namibia, which featured in the 2021 T20 International Cricket World Cup. Interestingly, 14 players are from the United States.

Focus on Namibia

Surprisingly, countries like Bhutan, Scotland and Oman also signed every player in the Mega IPL 2022 auction. Nepal also includes 15 players.

Namibia is a small African country with a population of 2.54 million, making history when it qualified for the T20 World Cup qualifiers at last year’s Super 12 World Cup.

While the names of the registered players have not yet been officially announced, fast left-hander Robin Trumpelman is expected to become one of the Namibians.

Trump, who impressed everyone with his speed and smashing pace at the 2021 T20 Cricket World Cup, also became the first bowler in T20 international cricket to take three wickets at the start of a match.

With big names like Sam Curran, Ben Stokes and Joffre Archer selected to skip IPL 2022, the 23-year-old South African-born Trumpelman could become the first Namibian to win an IPL contract.

Netherlands multi-level cricketer Ryan Den Dusette is the first participating cricketer to receive an IPL contract. He was a member of the Kolkata Knight Riders from 2011 to 2015 and won the title twice.

The IPL relationship with the United States is a long story. Many players who previously played in the IPL now come from American cricket. Players like Sunny Sohail, Rusty Theron, Corey Anderson and Unmukt Chand will test their luck in the upcoming IPL auction.

Last year, when the Kolkata Knight Riders signed him to replace the injured Harry Gurney, Ali Khan became the first American cricketer to receive an IPL contract. Ali did not even play a single game as injury kept him in midfield.

Volume for USA:

As the 2024 Men’s T20 World Cup co-hosts with the West Indies, the 2022 IPL will be a way to promote cricket in the country as world stars prepare to enlighten the United States.

Maxwell O’Dowd may be the only Dutchman to score in the IPL 2022 mega auction, and his question went viral to IPL regulators last year.

“Which teams in the IPL have thoughts on two combined player spaces? Long shot, but a man can dream of # IPL2022, ”O’Dwyer tweeted.

In the past, there have been events where players from member countries have made their dreams come true in the IPL. The names include Ryan Den Ducat of the Netherlands and Sandeep Lamechan of Nepal.

Sandeep Lamichhane is the first IPL cricketer from Nepal. He played for the Delhi Daredevils in the 2018 and 2019 editions.

When he signed with the Kolkata Knight Riders, he was the first cricketer to sign a contract with the IPL. He stayed in Joy City from 2011 to 2015, winning the title twice. He was included in the Delhi Capitals squad for the 2018 and 2019 seasons.

Emirati Jiraj Suri represented the currently inactive Gujarat Lions team, the last player to be represented was Timothy Hayes David, who played for Royal Challengers Bangalore during the 2021 tournament in the United Arab Emirates.

A total of 1,214 players (896 Indian players and 318 foreign players) to register for the IPL 2022 player auction The registration of IPL 2022 players ended on January 20.

List of players retained by 10 IPL teams

Chennai Super Kings: Ravindra Jadeja, MS Dhoni, Moin Ali, Rotoraj Kejriwal

Capitals of Delhi: Rishabh Bandh, Akshar Patel, Anrish Norde, Prithvi Show

Kolkata Knight Riders: Andre Russell, Varun Chakraborty, Venkatesh Iyer, Sunil Narine

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma, Jaspreet Bhumra, Suryakumar Yadav, Crohn Pollard

Kings of Punjab: Mayang Agarwal, Arshdeep Singh

Rajasthan Royals.: Sanju Samson, Yashvi Jaiswal, Jose Butler

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Mohammad Siraj

Sunrisers Hyderabad: Ken Williamson, Abdul Samad, Imran Malik

Ahmedabad team: Hardik Pandya, Marcus Stoines, Vingilere Jill

Lucknow team: Kuala Lumpur Rahul, Rashid Khan, Ravi Bishnoi

Country wise division for registered players

Afghanistan – 20

Australia – 59

Bangladesh – 9

UK – 30

Ireland – 3

New Zealand – 29

South Africa – 48

Sri Lanka – 36

West Indies – 41

Zimbabwe – 2

Bhutan – 1

Namibia – 5

Nepal – 15


Oman – 3

Scotland – 1

United Arab Emirates – 1

VS – 14

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top