UN condemns Russia’s annexation of occupied Ukraine Currently

UN condemns Russia's annexation of occupied Ukraine  Currently

The United Nations condemned Russia’s annexation of four Ukrainian regions. In the General Assembly, Russia’s move was described as illegal. The vote came two days after Russian attacks on civilian targets in Ukraine.

143 member states voted in favor, 5 voted against and 35 countries abstained, including China and India, the two major powers. There are no consequences for this condemnation, but it is seen as a sign that Russia is further isolating itself internationally.

US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken called the vote “a powerful reminder that the vast majority of countries are on Ukraine’s side.”

Shortly after the Russian invasion of Ukraine in late February, the United Nations had already denounced Russian “aggression”. Then Russia was asked to withdraw its forces immediately, but Russia did not comply. That call was then approved by 141 votes. Russia, Belarus, Eritrea, North Korea and Syria voted against it, and 35 countries abstained. This time Nicaragua supported Russia instead of Eritrea.

Russia’s annexation of the occupied territories of Kherson, Zaporizhzhya, Luhansk and Donetsk has already been strongly condemned at the international level. European Union leaders promised that Russia could count on additional sanctions.

See also  Once again, the main suspect in the Rwandan genocide died years ago

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top