February 4, 2023

SHSU Houstonian Online

Read all latest news headlines from USA, UK and around the world, get today's breaking news and live updates on politics, elections, business, sports, economy,​ …

The United States controls travel to South Africa and 7 other countries

The United States controls travel to South Africa and 7 other countries

WASHINGTON – The United States will restrict travel to non-US citizens from South Africa and seven countries from Monday as part of a global effort to stem the spread of the highly mutated Omigran variant of Govt-19, senior officials said. Officers. . .

Besides South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi are also affected.

The decision comes three weeks after the Biden administration lifted epidemic travel restrictions on visitors from more than 30 countries.

The White House’s medical adviser, Dr. Joe Biden, explained the alternative Friday. Anthony Fassi, when the list of emerging countries released their own travel bans.

Canada, the European Union and the United Kingdom announced travel restrictions on South Africa on Friday. Even as the Belgian authorities announced Several cases of the Omigron variant have already been identified there.

Also on Friday, the newly identified variant was designated by the World Health Organization as the Greek letter Omigran and officially recognized as the strain, previously mentioned Ratios b, ‘Changing anxiety’. “

Health Specialists: Very worried On the portability of the Omigron variant, it has a set of abnormal mutations and a different profile from other types of anxiety. It is not clear how severe the infection is in vaccinated patients.

It is feared that the sharp increase in cowpea cases in the South African province of Gauteng – the most mutant strain of the virus was first identified – will have the potential to escape immunity earlier than other strains.

The name of the new species of concern and the growing warning of health officials Friday sent global markets into a tailspin. Oil prices and entertainment stocks suffered heavy losses on the news.

See also  Mexico supports CELAC and expels OAS in full conflict with Almacro

Shares of airlines and other travel companies fell on Friday. The new restrictions come as airlines and carriers such as Boeing have expressed interest in traveling next year, especially in return for international routes.

According to airline consultancy Syria, 122 flights are scheduled between the United States and South Africa in December.

United, with 87 scheduled flights, will resume non-stop flights between its main hubs Newark, New Jersey and Cape Town next month. A spokesman said no change was planned at this time.

Delta has 35 scheduled flights between the United States and South Africa in December.

CNBC’s Sam Meredith and Robert Doe contributed to the coverage.

This is urgent news. Check back for updates.