The Nobel Prize in Physics goes to quantum physicists

The Nobel Prize in Physics goes to quantum physicists

News agency

NOS . Newsmodified

This year’s Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to French Alain Aspect, American John F. Clauser and Austrian Anton Zeilinger for research in the field of quantum physics. This was announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences in Stockholm.

The researchers won a prize for their experiments with entangled photons, in which two particles can act as one, even if they are separate. The results of these experiments can be used in the development of “supercomputers” and encrypted communications.

These entangled photons or particles have such a relationship that if you do a search on one particle, you will instantly learn something about the other. Nobel laureates have demonstrated through their research the possibility of these links. They did this by contributing to the design of the so-called Bell test: a test that proves the existence of this special connection.

In addition to the certificate, the winners will receive a cash prize of 10 million Swedish kronor, equivalent to 917,000 euros.

Since 1901, 214 male and 4 female researchers have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics. One of them, American John Bardeen, received the charter twice.

yesterday The winner of the Nobel Prize for Medicine became known: the Swedish physician and evolutionary biologist Svante Pappo received the prize for his discoveries in the field of the genetic makeup of extinct hominins and human evolution.

This is followed by the Chemistry, Literature and Peace Prizes and the Unofficial Prize for Economics.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top