F1 Spanish GP starting grid after three penalties

F1 Spanish GP starting grid after three penalties

For the first time in three years, Lando Norris will start a Formula 1 Grand Prix from pole position after holding off Max Verstappen in qualifying for the Spanish Grand Prix.

Norris overtook Verstappen to claim his second pole ever in Formula 1 in what he described as “probably the best lap” of his career so far.

Verstappen’s teammate Sergio Perez qualified eighth, but a three-place penalty from the Canadian Grand Prix moved him back to 11th and Esteban Ocon, Oscar Piastri and Fernando Alonso all moved up one place.

Logan Sargeant also has a grid penalty – three places from handicapping Stroll in qualifying. But despite the aforementioned penalty, he will actually start higher than he qualified for, which is 20th.

That’s because his Williams teammate, Alex Albon, replaced the power bank and control electronics unit of his FW46 without the approval of the FIA ​​technical delegate – which meant a pitlane start.

Albon is now above the season limit for both the power bank and control electronics, but a pit-line start means grid penalties will not affect that.

Starting order of the Spanish Grand Prix

1) Lando Norris (McLaren)
2) Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
3) Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
4) George Russell (Mercedes)
5) Charles Leclerc (Ferrari)
6) Carlos Sainz (Ferrari)
7) Pierre Gasly (Alpine)
8) Esteban Ocon (Alpine)
9) Oscar Piastri (McLaren)
10) Fernando Alonso (Aston Martin)
11) Sergio Perez (Red Bull)
12) Valtteri Bottas (Sauber)
13) Nico Hulkenberg (Haas)
14) Lance Stroll (Aston Martin)
15) Zhou Guanyu (Sauber)
16) Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
17) Yuki Tsunoda (right back)
18) Daniel Ricciardo (right back)
19) Logan Sargent (Williams)
RL) Alex Albon (Williams)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top